Conversations - Sara Grooves

I was digging up an older CD this past week by Sara Grooves (Conversations, 2001) and enjoying the God-centered lyrics. As my wife reminded me, Sara Groves is really the only female music artist that I listen to, and so when I do listen it’s momentous.

One song stuck out this time around, “This Journey is my Own” where Grooves accurately portrays the struggle we frail humans have to want to be people pleasers rather than God pleasers. I find myself in this familiar boat too many times to count in a given week. In fact this morning while reading a blog post and readying myself to comment I wrote and re-wrote and re-wrote before I erased and said to myself, “Am I more concerned about what they might think of me than communicating how that post affected me?” Groves writes:

“So much of what I do is to make a good impression, This journey is my own; And so much of what I say is to make myself look better, But this journey is my own”

If I’m honest with myself I can be tempted in every aspect of my life with seeking other’s approval. I’m thankful for the reminder that I don’t live this life for the gold star of others, but for the Lord. And Grooves aptly ends the song:

“And why would I want to live for man, and pay the highest price, And what does it mean to gain a whole world, only to lose my life; And you can live for someone else, and it will only bring you pain, I can’t even judge myself, only the Lord can say, ‘Well done.’”

“Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.” Colossians 3:23-24

