talkI’ve been reading “Relationships: A Mess Worth Making” by Paul Tripp and Tim Lane and I heartily recommend it to all. I will soon finish and post my review. But for now, follow with me as the authors cut to the heart of our talk in relationships.

Here is a quote from the chapter on Talk:

Christ said, “The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks” (Luke 6:45, authors’ emphasis). Our problem with words is not primarily a matter of vocabulary, skill, or timing. Have you ever said, “Oops, I didn’t mean to say that!” Often it would be more accurate to say, “I’m sorry I said what I meant!” If the thought, attitude, desire, emotion, or purpose hadn’t been in your heart, it wouldn’t have come out of your mouth… The real problem with your communication is what you want to say and why you want to say it, which ultimately has nothing to do with your language skills. Christ reveals that the what and the why are shaped by the heart. Therefore, if we hope to transform the way we talk with one another, the heart must change first.

Convicting.

