This past week at our local home church our Associate Pastor filling the pulpit, preached from the book of Job. He did an incredible job laying out his message, but as with me every week one thing stuck out to me. When he got to chapter 2 he emphasized the question Job poses to his wife after all the disaster has happened to them losing all they had, his health and their children. She says, “Do you still hold fast your integrity? Curse God and die.” v.9 And Job in his godly way responds to her off-the-cuff remark with spiritual maturity and confidence and says,  “You speak as one of the foolish women would speak. Shall we receive good from God, and shall we not receive evil [disaster]?” In all this Job did not sin with his lips.” v.10 ESV

That question has been rolling around in my head all week. We receive frequently and openly the “good” things from God each and every moment of every day. So much so,  I lose count. But when the disaster comes we all have the tendency to become like Job’s foolish wife and quickly forget who God is. Notice Job doesn’t pass judgement on his wife but says she speaks “as one of the foolish women would speak.” His admonition cuts to my heart and continues to prepare me for what the Lord might have in store for my life.

Far be it for me to ask God to not ever bring disaster into my life, I trust in His Sovereignty. But I do pray for wisdom, strength and patience when those disasters strike… and they will. May God receive all the Glory in my life!

