I mentioned in a prior post that I was preaching this weekend (May 31st). Some have asked if I would post the message so I am breaking up the sermon into three posts this week (If I posted the entire thing at one time it would be really long).

Post one will cover the first point in my sermon, Moses. But before we dig into the text, let me set the stage.

Overview of the subject: There are three main reasons for discouragement through our study.

  1. Sin: example of this can come in self-pity. The “why me ‘O Lord” complaint to God. It could also be just plain ‘ole disobedience.
  2. We don’t understand GodIsaiah 55:8-9 “‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,’ declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” God is bigger then us – He is infinite and we are finite.
  3. We are too busy: we have forgotten about God, we have too many irons in the fire and we don’t spend enough time with our Savior.

Moses

Moses was a mere man that was empowered by God to go directly to the Prime Minister of the World and ask for His people. “Ya Pharoah, I want my 3 million people and their livestock, their money and were going to march out of here.” How could a man of this stature and experience come to a point in his life to ask God to take his life?

Let’s look at Numbers 11:1-15

First, the people complained and God brought fire and destroyed some of them, literally killed some of the people. Second, after seeing this the rabble or mob continued on badgering Moses. Literally they “desired a desire”, they were bored wanted to complain for the sake of complaining. The people wanted meat and not just meat, they wanted what they had back in Egypt. They quickly had forgotten how bad it was and all they longed for “was the fish which we used to eat free in Egypt, the cucumbers and the melons and the leeks and the onions and the garlic” v.5

These people were stuck on stupid. They had not learned their lesson.

So when Moses had heard their complaints, he became very discouraged. He wasn’t thinking realistically and wanted to just quiet the people by giving them what they desired. Moses brings five questions to God in verse 11-15.

Here are the five questions and one request Moses poses to God.

  1. Why are you so hard on me?
  2. Why am I not in better favor with you?
  3. Did I conceive these people? (Am I their foster-father?)
  4. Did I father them and should wait on them hand & foot?
  5. Where am I going to get meat?
  6. And his one request: please kill me.

Here is the point I want to make: Where does it say in the Bible that Moses had to provide steak every night? It doesn’t say that. Moses was asked to lead and God would do the rest.

I do know that we’ve all struggled with this in own lives. But why do we think we deserve better than what we have? Faith in Jesus does not guarantee that everything will go our way. We deserve Hell, plain and simple. We have no right to question God and yet we all do.

Moses took a responsibility upon himself that God never gave to him. Remember that when God gives you a responsibility, He will also give you the ability. As one of my professors would say in college, “God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called.”

We can deal with discouragement by realizing what God has called us to do and doing it faithfully. But we will face incredible amounts of discouragement if we take a responsibility upon ourselves that God didn’t give us. That is what Moses did. May we learn from his example.

My next post will deal with Elijah and the discouragement he suffered.

-jeff

