If you are on Facebook you probably have seen some of the new ways you can express that you like something. The new way (at least that I am noticing) is becoming a fan of something. Like becoming a “fan” of cuddling? Really?? Cuddling!? Now don’t get me wrong, I love my wife and daughter and we cuddle – in fact I really like to cuddle with them (and only them, sorry). But am I a “fan” of it?

Wikipedia (the trust source for everything under the sun) says that:

“A fanaficionado, or supporter is someone who has an intense, occasionally overwhelming liking and enthusiasm for a sporting club, person (usually a celebrity), group of persons, company, product, activity, work of art, idea, or trend. Fans of a particular thing or person constitute its fanbase or fandom. They often show their enthusiasm by starting a fan club, holding fan conventions, creating fanzines, writing fan mail, or promoting the object of their interest and attention.”

Is cuddling, or sunsets, or mountains, or orange juice really something that we should be fans of? How about the ones that say they are a fan of God? or Jesus? Is this what God wants from us… a fanbase? Just some of the thoughts that are roaming in my mind. What do you think?

-jeff

